Edgetone Records

The Mission – The Manifesto

Edgetone Records was founded by musician/producer, Rent Romus. The label took shape in 1991 to support his group’s original jazz recordings. After being on a long hiatus Rent re-opened Edgetone in January 2000 and expanded it to support avant-garde and experimental music and recordings crossing the genre boundaries specifically for D.I.Y. (do it yourself) artists looking for a ground base and community label identity. The community of musicians on Edgetone are those who do not want to compromise their vision to fit into a narrow definition of “commercially viable”, or necessarily take on standard genre tags. They are those that believe in their efforts and work to see them through creative business mechanisms to support their ideas and dreams. The artists of Edgetone have what it takes to stand on their own and seek the need to expand their support.

Unlike many music corporate structures that mimic a parasite, Edgetone is dedicated to a symbiotic relationship between artist and itself by releasing recordings by artists who are “self-producers”, show a clear proactive interest in working in a community environment with empowerment as the base, a mind for business, and not just looking for the “deal”. Edgetone does not just “put out” records, it supports artists.

Every dollar spent on an Edgetone CD goes to support the artist’s creation. There will never be any non-musician administrators, secretaries, managers, or CEOs to receive one cent of your purchase. The artist who puts out their hard work receives the majority of the sale. A minimal percentage goes back into Edgetone to make it possible to continue to support their works. Edgetone supports the artists without sonic compromise or preconception.

Thank you,
Rent Romus, the management

Edgetone artists are:

15 Degrees Below Zero, The Abstractions, Robert Anbian, Dan Ake, Steven Baker, Aaron Bennett, Jon Birdsong, Bloom, CJ Borosque, Kyle Bruckmann, Jon Brumit, Ronnie Camaro, Doug Carroll, Brian Clark, COMA, Dax Compise, Conure, Tyler Cox, Andre Custodio, Matt Davignon, Arrington de Dionyso, Ernesto Diaz-Infante, Dr. Bob, Eddie the Rat, Seth Elgart, Dina Emerson, Phillip Everett, Sandor Finta, Stephen Flinn, (the) giants of gender, Guillermo Galindo, Drew Gardner, Ghost In The House, Gold Record Studio, Lance Grabmiller, Wayne Grim, Steinni Gunnarson, Joel Harrison, Daniel Hintz, INSTAGON, Jazz On the Line, Darren Johnston, Robert Jones, Torhu Kanayama, KLiP trio, Scott Looney, Bob Marsh, Peter J. Martin, Thollem McDonas, David Michalak, Dave Mihaly, Robert M, Wilber Morris, Nihil Communication, Bill Noertker, Noertker’s Moxie, Tom Nunn, Stefan Pasborg, Tony Passarell, Positive Knowledge, Garth Powell, Jesse Quattro, Alywn Quebido, Edoardo Ricci, Rick Rivera, Jess Rowland, Rent Romus, Jim Ryan, Saint of Killers, Say Bok Gwai, Ray Schaeffer, Aram Shelton, Son of Gunnar, Ton of Shel, Karen Stackpole, Moe! Staiano, E. Doctor Smith, Beth Snellings, Molly Tascone, John Tchicai, (the)giants of gender, Third Impulse, Ijeoma Thomas, Oluyemi Thomas, Toyoji Tomita, Tri-Cornered Tent Show, Unidentified Flying Quartet, Charles Unger, Van Boven, John Vaughn, WarisTerror TerrorisWar, Andrew Wilshusen, Michael Wimberly, Yehudit, Alex Yeung, Annelise Zamula, ZONE

 Click any of the covers for more…


Leave a Review

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.