Satoko Fujii New Trio | Spring Storm | Libra Records

Yes, a new trio, based in Japan, and featuring Satoko Fujii on piano, Todd Nicholson on bass, and Takashi Itani on drums. Musically, we’re somewhere between the drive of the Fujii’s Quartet and the jazzier feel of her Trio, with also something more evanescent. Six new compositions with strongly established themes tied together by arrangements that leave room for surprises. Itani’s playing is vivid and octopusian (and reminiscent of Yoshida Tatsuya). To tell you the truth, Spring Storm is a little bit of unknown surrounded by a lot of known, for, new or not, this trio is 100% Satoko Fujii. — Monsieur Délire Continue reading