Jason Roebke | Tobias Delius | Panoramic | Not Two Records

Not Two, 2013 | MW 881-2 | CD

Jason Roebke – double bass | Tobias Delius – tenor saxophone, clarinet

Recorded April 11, 2011 at BelAir by Todd A. Carter. Mixed by Jason Roebke. Mastered by Brian Labycz. Photo of Tobias Delius by Seth Tisue. Photo of Jason Roebke by Krzysztof Penarski.

Tracklist: 1. Cuttlefish [06:28] 2. On the Moon [09:02] 3. Which Goose [12:19] 4. G-Bug 2:47 [02:47] 5. Convolvulaceae [14:55] 6. Panther [02:05] 7. No Night [04:06] 8. Punkin [08:04] Total Time: [59:46]

Jason Roebke

is a double bassist working in the field of jazz and improvised music. Since coming to Chicago in 1999, he has become one of the cities most active musicians. The Chicago Reader described his work as “a carefully orchestrated rummage through a hardware store.” He regularly works with a wide range of ensembles: Mike Reed’s People Places and Things
Jason, Stein Locksmith, Isidore,
Jeb Bishop, Trio
Steve Dawson,
James Falzone, Klang,
Keefe Jackson, Quartet
Jason Adasiewicz, Rolldown,
Jorrit Dijkstra, Flatlands, Collective,
Fred Lonberg-Holm’s Valentine Trio.

He was the recipient of a 2009 Artist Fellowship in Music Composition from the Illinois Arts Council, Community Arts Assistance Program grant from the City of Chicago (2007), and CROSSCUT: New collaborations in Sound/Movement from Experimental Sound Studio and Links Hall (2007).

Tobias Delius

(born 15 July 1964, Oxford, England) is an English musician, who plays the tenor saxophone and clarinet. Delius began playing saxophone in 1980 in Germany. In 1983-1984 he lived in Mexico City where he played in the “Cuarteto Mexicano de Jazz” led by pianist Francixco Téllez.

Delius moved to Amsterdam in 1984 and studied for a short while at the Sweelinck Conservatorium. He soon became involved with Amsterdam improvisers and dropped his studies to immerse himself in the improvised music scene. In 1990 he was awarded the Podiumprijs from the organisation Stichting Jazz in The Netherlands. In February 2004, Delius was awarded the VPRO/Boy Edgar Award, the Netherlands’ most prestigious award in improvised music.

He has worked in Europe and overseas with among others Steve Lacy, Louis Moholo’s Viva-la-black, Bill Frisell, Mark Feldman and Trio Clusone, Misha Mengelberg, Steve Beresford, Jeb Bishop, Kent Kessler & Hamid Drake and Ray Anderson. Tobias Delius leads his own quartet with Tristan Honsinger (cello), Joe Williamson (double bass) and Han Bennink (drums). The CDs The Heron, Toby’s Mloby and Pelikanismus were enthusiastically received both at home and abroad.

Delius has a duo with bassist Wilbert de Joode, forms a trio with keyboard player Cor Fuhler and various drummers (Louis Moholo and Paul Lovens to name two), and initiated the Trio San Francisco with reed players South African Sean Bergin and Italian Daniele D’Agaro. He has formed apa ini, a group with Wilbert de Joode, Hilary Jeffery (trombone) and Serigne Gueye (djembe). He can be heard in a variety of groups, including Available Jelly, Sean Bergin’s MOB, ICP Orchestra, Chris Abelen Quintet, Joost Buis and his Famous Astronotes, Frank van Bommel Quartet and Curtis Clark.


CD version (incl. shipment cost world-wide)

$ 16.00
Out of Stock

MP3 version
(84.20MB zip download)
$ 9.00

Leave a Review

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.