rogueart jazz

Yusef Lateef: piano, tenor saxophone, flute, spoken words | Nicolas Humbert: composition, recording | Marc Parisotto: compositions, mixing

ROOTS RUN DEEP is a work conceived by Nicolas Humbert and Marc Parisotto based on the original readings and improvisations by Yusef Lateef.

The stories “Cream Puff”, “Where is Lester”, “Goodbye” and “Interior Monologue” are published in the book “Spheres – Stories by Yusef Lateef”, Fana Publishing Company, Amherst, Massachusetts, 1976. They are reproduced here in the booklet.

Music and spoken words were recorded in Amherst, MA, USA on March 2004 by Nicolas Humbert and August 2004 by Martin Seeliger respectively. Arranged and mixed between July 2010 and July 2011 by Marc Parisotto. Mastering: Christian Höck, Telstar Studio. Liner notes: Karl Lippegaus. Additional texts: Nicolas Humbert, Marc Parisotto. Photographs: Werner Penzel (from the film “Brother Yusef”), Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer. Cover design: Max Schoendorff. Cover realization: David Bourguignon, URDLA. Producer: Michel Dorbon

Tracklist: 1. Roots Run Deep I (4:49) 2. Cream Puff (2:20) 3. Where is Lester (5:04) 4. Motherless Child (5:32) 5. Goodbye (7:26) 6. Interior Monologue (3:08) 7. Roots Run Deep II (6:13)

All compositions and words by Yusef Lateef except 4, traditional