Satoko Fujii Tobira | Yamiyo Ni Karasu | Libra Records

libra records 204-038

Natsuki Tamura — trumpet | Satoko Fujii — piano | Todd Nicholson — bass | Takashi Itani — drums,percussion

Recorded on June 17, 2014 by Max Ross at Systems Two, New York City. Mixed on February 3, 2015 by Max Ross at Systems Two, New York City. Mastered on February 5, 2015 by Max Ross at Systems Two, New York City. Executive producer; Natsuki Tamura. Design: Masako Tanaka. Cover photo by Tatsuya Ikeda.

Tracklist: 1. Hanabi [13’53] 2. Run After A Shadow [9’58”]   3. Fuki [3’58] 4. Wind Dance [6’39] 5. Centrifugal Force [9’49] 6. Potential Energy [9’39] 7. Yamiyo Ni Karasu [4’10]

All compositions by Satoko Fujii


The Satoko Fujii New Trio

(Fujii-Nicholson-Itani) released its debut CD, “Spring Storm” in 2013. Since then, we have performed throughout Japan, Europe and North America. Sometimes Natsuki Tamura joined the trio as a guest artist. He brought energy and humor, so the band had more color. So I decided to change the band name from “New Trio” to “Tobira.” “Tobira” means door in Japanese. I wanted to open the door to bring some fresh air to the music and keep it from becoming closed.

I wrote the music on paper and this band made it sound so alive. They know which spices to use. I am so lucky to always can get such great collaborators.

I really like our music which is full of energy and hope you also enjoy it. — Satoko Fujii, February 1, 2015


CD version (incl. shipment cost world-wide)

$ 16.00
Out of Stock

Leave a Review

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.