Gastr Del Sol | Twenty Songs Less | 7 inch EP

Gastr del Sol was one of the most critically acclaimed experimental groups of the last decade founded by David Grubbs [Bastro, The Red Krayola], converting conventional rock music into intricate and sophisticated tone patterns. Likewise, Jim O’Rourke [Brise Glace, Sonic Youth], Bundy K. Brown [Tortoise] and John McEntire [Bastro, Tortoise] were involved in this luxurious recording.

Jim O’Rourke – electronics, engineering, editing | John McEntire – drums | Bundy K. Brown – acoustic | David Grubbs – acoustic guitar, piano

Executed in Chicago by Bundy K. Brown, David Grubbs, John McEntire and Jim O’Rourke in 1993. Painting by Paul Green. Limited edition of 1000 copies.

Tracklist: 1. Twenty songs less side one | 2. Twenty songs less side two

Photo: Manfred Rahs

Given the bad blood that circulated following this group’s demise in 1998, it’s surprising to see material still flowing out of Gastr Del Sol’s wounds. But it’s difficult to resist the fascination their msuic continues to exert. Ostensibly a collaboration between Jim O’Rourke and David Grubbs (John McEntire and Bundy K. Brown seem to have kept their attention focused elsewhere), this quartet blended electronics and acoustics in new ways, creating a template that would be followed by people like the resurgent John Fahey, Hrvatski and many others. This is a reissue of an old Teenbeat single, but it has not dated in the least, and represents as brilliant a distilation of Gastr Del Sol’s essence as you’re likely to find.

The Wire

EP version (incl. shipment cost world-wide)

$ 9.00
Out of Stock


Leave a Review

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.